Verdin USB OTG Slave

Hi,
I have no experience with usb protocol but basically I would like to connect the Verdin over usb to a PC and see it as a mounted drive.
From the Dahlia datasheet on Verdin USB_1 Port:

I see that this should be possible, but just connecting a USB-C cable between my PC and Verdin X3 connector does nothing. On the other hand the port does work as a host. I can put in a usb stick and it is mounted in Linux and I can copy data onto it.

I see it depends on the CC Pin. Should I change anything or the PC handles handles this by itself?

Furthermore we are designing a USB Micro interface on our custom board with the same idea and the same USB_1 port of the Verdin. Is there something that we have to watch out for? This is the schematics:

Thanks in advance!

Hi @swiss !

Please refer to this USB Device Mode (Linux) | Toradex Developer Center article.

About the hardware for Verdin interfaces, please refer to the Verdin Carrier Board Design Guide.

Let us know if it helps you :slight_smile:

Best regards,

Hi @swiss !

Were you able to solve your issue?

Let us know :slight_smile:

Best regards,

Hi @henrique.tx ,
Sorry I am preoccupied with some other parts of the project right now. I will update you as soon as possible!

1 Like

Hi @henrique.tx ,
One month later I’m finally back on this topic.

After reading up on the links you sent me, I decided I want a to use the USB CDC ECM function.
I tried following the gadget example but I hit a problem as soon as:

# Mount configfs
mount -t configfs none /sys/kernel/config
cd /sys/kernel/config/usb_gadget/

# Create gadget
mkdir g2
cd g2

# Use Toradex vendor and product id
echo 0x1b67 > idVendor

I had to run most of the commands as sudo, but even with that, as soon as I change the idVendor file, (sudo vim idVendor and :wq! after to exit) I get a message:

WARNING: The file has been changed since reading it!!!

and the idVendor goes back to 0x0000.