Verdin M4 core rpmsg example problem

Hello,
I started playing around with Verdin M4 core. I have been following AN article about RUNNING freeRTOS on M4 core. I have successfully run hello_world demo app and next thing I wanted to get familiar with is RPMSG to get an idea how to communicate between A and M core. I built rpmsg pingpong example, copied debug binary to the SD card and run it in uboot:

fatload mmc 1 0x7e0000 rpmsg_pingpong.bin && dcache flush && bootaux 0x7e0000

The program starts and prints:

RPMSG Ping-Pong FreeRTOS RTOS API Demo...
RPMSG Share Base Addr is 0xb8000000

After kernel boots and the imx_rpmsg_pingpong module is inserted nothing happens.

Getting Started with MCUXpressoSDK for i.MX 8M Mini.pdf states that correct dtb should be used:

setenv fdt_file 'fsl-imx8mm-evk-m4.dtb' 

I havent found m4 .dtb file or .dts anywhere. Am I doing something wrong? Should I write my own m4.dts?

Greetings @spasoye,

Before we continue what version of our software are you working with? (i.e. 5.0? 4.0?)

As for dtb files that dtb is not a Toradex maintained device tree, so it’s probably not deployed along with our default software by default. I took a quick look and found the dts here: fsl-imx8mm-evk-m4.dts « freescale « dts « boot « arm64 « arch - linux-toradex.git - Linux kernel for Apalis, Colibri and Verdin modules

However this kernel branch is for our 4.0 software. For our 5.0 software I don’t see a similar device tree source anywhere.

We haven’t done too much formal testing yet with Verdin and the M4 core on it, so I can’t speak too much of what to expect.

Best Regards,
Jeremias

I’m using 4.14.170-4.0.0-devel+git.62ad468b3107 version .
I’ll try to compile it, implement it and see what happens.

I just found the solution for this as I was trying to do the same thing myself. You can find fsl-imx8mm-evk-m4.dts at arch/arm64/boot/dts/freescale/fsl-imx8mm-evk-m4.dtb in linux-toradex. I’m on branch toradex_4.14-2.3.x-imx.