View and modify device tree

Hi, We are using Verdin + Dahlia combination loaded with “Boot2Qt 6.2.1 Toradex Verdin-iMX8MP” linux image. I need to view and modify the device tree. I am new to Linux systems. I went through “Device Tree Customization | Toradex Developer Center” link to have some initial understanding and it says that device tree is located under arch/arm/boot/dts/ folder. When I checked my board, i could not find the arch folder. PLease suggest how to locate and modify the device tree. Also this board does not take any basic command like apt, apt-get, sudo etc. I want to use these commands to install the dtc compiler.

Thanks,
Anuj

Hi @Anukuls127,

All the modifications in the device tree are done inside your host computer (Linux or Windows) instead of the board. You will compile the device tree on your computer and then copy it to your board. The module doesn’t have all the necessary tools to compile it and usually, our desktop computers have better hardware to do that.

This folder is from the Linux Kernel that you’ll download to your computer. Follow this link to get everything done before moving to High performance, low power Embedded Computing Systems | Toradex Developer Center. These first steps are important to download the toolchain, the Linux kernel, and then you can modify and compile the device tree.

Feel free to ask any questions you might have.

Best Regards,
Hiago.

This is for 32 bit ARM’s. For iMX8 you need to look in arch/arm64/boot/dts/freescale

Hi Hiago,

Thanks for your quick response. I went through the “Build U-Boot and Linux Kernel from Source Code | Toradex Developer Center” link and found that I need to have the required setup in host computer (not sure, if this link can be followed for windows host ?). This setup requires the BSP package, kernel code from Toradex’s website.