Verdin iMX8MM: Use A53 to control M4F

Hi there!

I would like to realize the following application:
Use the A53 to start-up and turn off the M4.
The M4 should be able to periodically do a task and save some Data (ideally with a running RTOS on it).
The A53 should be able to get the Data generated by the M4, save it and ideally send commands to the M4.

Basic Idea:
Use a docker container to control the A53 which in turn starts the M4 (with RTOS on it)which does a blinky or so for a minute and the the A53 turns the M4 off again. Something like that…

Problem:
I am a newbie without much experience (Haven’t even used docker before, nor Uboot nor real Linux, just Raspbian stuff). I have got some really basic experience with Microcontrollers (PWM, Blinky, basic RTOS knowledge).

I went through the reference manual of the i.MX 8M Chip and found sth. called a Ressource Domain Controller. I did go through the Quickstartguide. And i checked out how to get FreeRTOS on the M4.
But i don’t know how to connect the Information i found. Is there already an Interface, or some sort of solution for my problem? is it even possible?

I am thankful for any advice information or hints!

Hi,

What you want is possible, though perhaps not so easy for newbie. remoteproc should allow you to start/stop M4 FW and perhaps implement some services in the same M4 FW. RPMSG could be used to communicate data/settings to/from M4. But… according to NXP, at least for iMX7 M4 has to be started from U-Boot only, so you may expect the needs to digg deeper into kernel drivers and mod them for your own purposes…