Verdin IMX8M Plus Qt Creator

Hi
I have devkit “Verdin IMX8M Plus and Verdin Dev board”.
I am new to Qt Device Creation so any additional information will be helpful for me. Thank you in advance!!!

Initially, I tried to connect to Qt Creator. QBSP support for IMX8M Plus only starts with version “Boot2Qt 6.4.3 NXP i.MX 8M Plus LPDDR4 EVK”. And all available images from Toradex use meta-qt5 - but even with them I couldn’t connect to Qt Creator. Then I built the image myself according to the instructions from the official site:

Everything built together ok and I was able to connect to Qt Creator. But I can’t launch the test project, since the image has Qt version 5.15 and the compiler version is 6.4.3. The error on dev kit appears - there are no libraries for Qt Gui 6 version.

Then I tried to build the same official image but with meta-qt6 as described here:

But I get an error for 6.4.3. so for the latest 6.5.1 in qtapplicationmanager:
ERROR: qtapplicationmanager-6.5.1-r0 do_configure: ExecutionError(‘/home/stan88/oe-core/build/tmp/work/cortexa53-tdx-linux/qtapplicationmanager/6.5.1-r0/temp/run.do_configure.278724’, 1, None, None)

As I understand correctly, there is ability to compile an image for this platform for meta-qt6. Could you help me what layers and versions will be better to use? Maybe you have some description? And is it possible to connect and debug through Qt Creator in a different way without using QBSP? Perhaps I missed something.

Regards, Stanislav.

Hi @Stan88 !

Welcome to the Toradex Community! :tada:

We have the following article on Developer about Qt for Device Creation: Qt for Device Creation (Boot to Qt) | Toradex Developer Center

From there we can see that there is no support for Verdin iMX8M Plus. But, anyway, we will check internally.

We also have the following article that might help you with your Qt Creator setup: