Updating OpenSSH Package

Hello,
I am using a VF50 with Toradex Linux V2.5.
I need to update the version of OpenSSH used. I am a little new to Yocto, so apologies, if this is an obvious question.
I have added a openssh_%.bbappend file to my recipe and specified the new OpenSSH version and checksums as follows:

PV = '7.4p1'
SRC_URI[md5sum] = "b2db2a83caf66a208bb78d6d287cdaa3"
SRC_URI[sha256sum] = "1b1fc4a14e2024293181924ed24872e6f2e06293f3e8926a376b8aec481f19d1"

However, when I attempt to build the new recipe, I get a number of patch errors.

Is this the correct way to update packages? If so, what am I doing wrong.

Thanks in advance, for any help provided.

For a new version you should create new bb file and port the patches. But recipe and patches for 7.4p1 are already available here openssh\recipes-connectivity\meta - openembedded-core - OpenEmbedded Core layer . If you require openSSH 7.5 you’ll need to port it by yourself.

That probably means that some patches from the original recipe do no longer apply to whatever newer version you are trying to build. It is very well possible that e.g. some fixes previously integrated as patches have made its way back into the regular upstream sources.

First I would look whether or not a newer version of said recipe does already exist e.g. here. As you can see that is the case and it is available in openembedded-core.

Now I would look at the history of resp. recipe and figure out what changes may be required to get from where you currently are to where you intend to go e.g. here. As you can see several CVE patches have been dropped and new ones added.