Steps to run a QML application on IMX7D with Non commercial licence

Hi everyone.

We are trying to develop a proof of concept for the GUI of an interface, and decided to use QT as graphic engine, and a Colibri IMX7D as hardware platform, as this is the best fit in term of price, and power consumption.

I’m really new in the linux dev world (only previous experience was with raspberry pi), and I initially thought it would be straightforward to get QT up and running. It seems I was wrong. I’ve established a plan of what I need to do, but I would like to see with you if I’ve got everything.

My goal is the following: having an embedded linux, with Qt installed on it, capable of building a QT application on its own, and capable of display in software mode a QML application.

Here is my understanding of what needs to be done:

Step 1: Prepare the yocto image

• My PC is a mac, so I need to setup a virtual machine with Ubuntu 18.04
  • Follow this instruction (up to the section “Building”) to download everything I need
  • Customize the device tree (is it at this step, before building the image?) thanks to this instructions

Step 2: incorate Qt

• Add somehow meta-qt5 to my build. There is several ressources on the forum such here to help me, but I haven’t still looked that much into it.
  • Will I be able to compile application on the target with just this? Or do I need something else

Step 3: build it

Step 4: Flash it

• Put back the Easy Installer thanks to this instructions
  • Flash my Linux.

Step 5: Qt application

• I would need to use the software renderer, and I shall be good to go.

Does it sounds about right? Am I missing some stuff, or have you got any advice?

Thanks a lot!

Regards

Hi @ParalaX

This sounds basically good. Did you already try it? meta-qt5 is included in our repo manifest. You can follow this guide: