Starting samba in a torizon/weston-vivante container

I’m using a Verdin iMX8M Plus and a Verdin development board. I’m using a TorizonCore reference image with sample containers. I have a docker image based on torizon/weston-vivante:2 with minimal changes.

I’m trying to get samba to run inside the container. I’ve installed the samba package in the docker build and am first trying to get it to run by manually starting it.

First attempt was systemctl, that returns “command not found”. I installed a package with it in the docker build, then trying it returns “System has not been booted with systemd as init system (PID1).” I don’t want to install systemd assuming that will break whatever all /usr/bin/entry.sh does.

Then I tried “service”. Doing a “service --status-all” shows a samba-ad-dc service, status is [-] not running. I did a “service samba-ad-dc start”, it came back to the command prompt with no errors. But checking status again shows samba still not running.

How do you start services inside a TorizonCore Debian container? Do I need to install systemd? TorizonCore itself has systemctl, as did the Colibri Yocto T30 environment we are upgrading from.

Greetings @techczech,

It is possible to run systemd inside a container. But it can be more trouble and effort than needed.

As for your issue, if all you want to do is run samba-ad-dc.service, can’t this be done without systemd/systemctl?

Looking at the service file itself:

root@fec3ffa2a8da:/# cat /etc/systemd/system/multi-user.target.wants/samba-ad-dc.service
[Unit]
Description=Samba AD Daemon
Documentation=man:samba(8) man:samba(7) man:smb.conf(5)
Wants=network-online.target
After=network.target network-online.target

[Service]
Type=notify
PIDFile=/run/samba/samba.pid
LimitNOFILE=16384
EnvironmentFile=-/etc/default/samba
ExecStart=/usr/sbin/samba --foreground --no-process-group $SAMBAOPTIONS
ExecReload=/bin/kill -HUP $MAINPID

[Install]
WantedBy=multi-user.target