RPMSG Lite multiple channels/endpoints

Hi,
I am implementing RPMSG-Lite communication between M4 core and Linux where M4 core acquires data from an FPGA and sends it to the Linux . In order to distinguish between data and commands I would like to have two channels of the RPMSG.

I am new to this and I’m not sure whats the difference between multiple channels, multiple instances or multiple endpoints of the RPMSG, but I’m happy with any option that could solve my problem easily :slight_smile:

Unfortunatelly, I saw this forum post (Multiple endpoints using RPMsg RTOS Layer - NXP Community) that makes it sound like this isn’t possible. Did anything change in the past two years since this post? :slight_smile:

Thanks!

Hi @swiss,

I’ve never tested it myself, to be honest. Let me search for this topic and then I will get back to you if I have something.

Best Regards,
Hiago.

1 Like

Hi @swiss,

Well, since you moved to RRPMSG Lite, you may have as many /dev/ttyRPMSG’s as you wish, you may as weel implement some other RPMSG devices. Some modifications are required in device tree and M4 side.

It is not easy to come back to something non-trivial like subject to do it from scratch. Since it is working on my side, I may miss some details.

You need two or more VDEV’s with their own VDEV VRING’s. See on M4 rpmsg_platform.h, or perhaps some other h file. Starting from default VRING allocation for iMX7D, which was 0x8FFf0000, add next VRING at +64k:

#define VDEV0_VRING_BASE 0x8FFf0000
#define VDEV1_VRING_BASE 0x90000000

64k is hard coded in Linux imx_rpmsg driver.

In *.c files on M4 side you should have multiple calls to rpmsg_lite_remote_init() like

rpmsgtty0 = rpmsg_lite_remote_init((void *)RPMSG_0_VRING, RPMSG_0_LINK_ID, RL_NO_FLAGS);

There should be no mismatch betweem VRING and LINK_ID. LINK_ID for VRING0 is 0, LINK_ID for next VRING1 is 1 and so on. Thay can’t be flipped AFAIK.