Overlay format help

I’m really new at creating overlays and I tried to make my own, but once I add the dtbo to the overlay.txt file, it fails to boot. Below is what I have. This is mostly from you AI. I understand most of the syntax, but fuzzy on exactly what it needs. I looked at the binding for the i2c and that has an example, but I looks more like a device tree example, and not an overlay. Any hint, clues things to read, would be helpfull. Also, point out what I have right in the dts.

/dts-v1/;
/plugin/;

/ {
compatible = “toradex,verdin-imx8mp”;

fragment@0 {
    target = <&i2c3>; 				//device is on i2c-3 Addres 0x40
    __overlay__ {
        #address-cells = <1>;
        #size-cells = <0>;

pca9685@40 {
            compatible = "nxp,pca9685" "fsl,imx8mp-i2c";
            reg = <0x40>;
            #pwm-cells = <2>;			//not sure if this is needed
            pwms = <&pca9685 0 0>;		//not sure if this is needed
        };
    };
};

};

Hey @jeffbelz,

Just so your aware, the ToradexAI → Artificial Intelligence bot. So that response always needs to be taken with care. I believe the first paragraph mentions this in its response.

It looks like your on the verdin imx8m plus. Can you tell me which carrier board you are using. And are you using a BSP 5 or BSP 6 based OS? If on BSP 6 you can type in sudo tdx-info on the module and it will output a bunch of useful information.

-Eric

Hey @jeffbelz,

Using BSP 6 references…

We can look at the imx8mp-verdin.dtsi file in our linux-toradex source code

We can see a few I2C nodes, it would be good to crossreference with our imx8mp verdin datasheet to get a better understanding of what I2C is doing, and with which pins.

Taking the first reference &i2c1

16 &i2c1 {
  15     clock-frequency = <400000>;
  14     pinctrl-names = "default", "gpio";
  13     pinctrl-0 = <&pinctrl_i2c1>;
  12     pinctrl-1 = <&pinctrl_i2c1_gpio>;
  11     scl-gpios = <&gpio5 14 (GPIO_ACTIVE_HIGH | GPIO_OPEN_DRAIN)>;