Modbus on UART0 RS485 - Colibri VF61

Hi

With my Colibri setup, i ran into another problem with the new image. The modbus communication has stopped working.

&uart0 {
        status = "okay";
        linux,rs485-enabled-at-boot-time;
        dma-names = "", "";
};

As far as i can see, the default pinmux group should be ok. Therefore further settings in iomuxc:

&iomuxc {
        pinctrl-0 = <&pinctrl_hog_1>;    
        vf610-colibri {...};
};

uart0 will show up as /dev/ttyLP0, as expected.

For modbus the project makes heavy use of libmodbus. This was implemented on LinuxImageV2.6b2 using libmodbus_3.1.2.
Now with the new Image i will get tons of Connection timed out, Resource temporarily unavailable or Connection reset by peer errors, depending on the setup used. In a few cases, some reads went through, meaning i did not get an error but received an answer of the expected size.

As i’m new to the topic, i don’t really understand what is going on. I added pinctrl_hog_1 because i2c-1 did not work with hog_0. So maybe that is the problem again?

UPDATE

When accessing the Interface with a RS485 to USB converter from the outside, no Data is sent in either direction:

1. screen /dev/ttyUSB2 57600
 2. echo "foo" > /dev/ttyLP0

screen does not show any output…

So there is no communication at all?

Can you double check that all involved pins are properly muxed? The debugfs can be helpful, check cat /sys/kernel/debug/pinctrl/pinctrl-handles. Check that the uart0grp contains all involved pins.

Maybe the RS485 transceiver needs additional pins?

Hi Stefan

Thank you for your reply. I did not know about the debugfs. Here is the output of the relevant device. What more Pins could it need? rx/tx + CTS/RTS

device: 40027000.serial current state: default
  state: default
    type: MUX_GROUP controller 40048000.iomuxc group: uart0grp (16) function: vf610-colibri (0)
    type: CONFIGS_PIN controller 40048000.iomuxc pin VF610_PAD_PTB10 (32)config 000021a2