iMX7D M4 off when A7 change suspend mode

Hi toradex teams,

I’m a beginner in heterogeneous architect. Following instruction FreeRTOS on the Cortex-M4 of a Colibri iMX7, I’ve already run example hello_world on M4. Currently, in boot up there are 2 OSes run independent: Linux on A7 and RTOS on M4.

As I know, when I change mode for A7 in runtime to suspend mode, M4 still working (I did follow Suspend/Resume on Colibri iMX6/iMX6ULL/iMX7. But when I check program on M4, it no longer works.

I checked it with console debug on UART-B (result below). I realize M4 not echo again like before.

My question is how can I test in the case that change A7 to suspend mode while M4 still working?

Thanks and regard!

Hi toradex teams,

I have already changed OS (LXDE BSP 2.8) and make everything the same before. After that, I got result:

• With suspend mode (mem) and low power mode (standby), M4 don’t work
  • With freeze mode, M4 work normal

My question is: What is OS and version support the exactly what I did? Torizon Evaluation OS (BSP 5.0) can support?

Thanks and regard,

@tuanphan , it is possible to keep M4 running while putting A7 into suspend mode e.g. # echo mem > /sys/power/state. We used to create a low power demo based on iMX7 where M4 measures power consumption when A7 is in suspend mode. Do you modify the hello world demo on M4 ?

Hi @benjamin.tx ,

I don’t change hello_world demo, just testing. In this example, there’re loop function where echo opposite side when I send text from debug console (UART-B).

I’ve already tested with suspend mode but M4 doesn’t work, just only operate in freeze mode. What is OS version do you test? And how about Torizon Evaluation OS (BSP 5.0)

Thanks so much and regard.

Hi @tuanphan , if I remember it correctly ldp demo is based on V2.7. I will test your case as well. For Torizon support, @gustavo.tx , do you know the mainline kernel in Torizon support rpmsg?

@benjamin.tx,