How to get Torizon IDE Extension 2 on Ubuntu ARM64

Hello,

I’m new to the Toradex ecosystem and was wondering how to install the Torizon IDE Extension 2 for vscode on a Ubuntu Parallels. I can find the extension in vscode but installing is disabled since its not available for Linux ARM64.

Hey @bengur ,

The Toradex Extension is currently not supported to run on arm64. Are you able to run a x86_64 VM?

-Eric

Since you are a beginner I feel compelled to chime in.

I am stunned you got Ubuntu to install under Parallels on Apple. Historically it either fails to install or corrupts itself shortly after the install. Parallels is not a good product. If you must run on Apple, use Oracle VirtualBox for your VM.

As a general rule, Apple doesn’t exist in the embedded world. Doesn’t seem to matter what brand of SOM/SOC/whatever you choose, the only platform development tools both exist for and have been tested on are x86_64 Ubuntu.

Free advice, always use the “default” Ubuntu ISO, not one of the LUbuntu/KUbuntu/etc. flavors. Nobody likes the standard Ubuntu desktop (though it is a touch better than the Unity desktop they had) but it is the only thing you can be certain was tested. When you start adding on/using different desktops things get wonky.

1 Like

Thanks for the info! My work laptop is a Silicon Mac but I’ll seriously consider moving over to VirtualBox from Parallels.

@bengur,

While what has been stated above regarding the plugins not working on ARM64 is true, I have been using an M1 Mac for embedded work for several years now. It’s not immune to problems, but I find it a stellar platform this kind of work. I also use Parallels on M1 with Ubuntu and Windows on a daily basis. In my personal experience, I have found that Parallels is not any more buggy than VirtualBox. In fact, as you probably know, Parallels has a number of nice features that VirtualBox and Fusion do not have.