Device Tree Overlays Torizon imx7 CAN bus, can0 not found

Good morning,
I am new with embedded linux and SoM world in general, I probably do not have enough background to understand properly what I am trying to do.

As an experiment, I would like to enable CAN bus on my module imx7 colibri mounted on iris v2.0, from “How to Use CAN on TorizonCore” I understand that this device does not have a CAN transceiver, so I am gonna add an external transcriver.

But the problem that I am facing is that I do not properly understand how Device tree overlay works with Torizon, it seems to be too over-complicated and poorly explained in details, the tutorials just give some little examples but they are not enough to really understand in deep what is going on with all the tools provided (in my opinion).

What I did so far is creating a device tree overlay as explained in “CAN (Linux) | Toradex Developer Center” .dts that contains:

/dts-v1/;
/plugin/;

/ {
	compatible = "toradex,colibri-imx7d",
		     "toradex,colibri-imx7s";
};

&flexcan1 {
	status = "okay";
};

&iomuxc {
	pinctrl-0 = <&pinctrl_gpio1 &pinctrl_gpio2 &pinctrl_gpio3 &pinctrl_gpio5>;
};

and upload it with my host machine using:

torizoncore-builder dto deploy --remote-host 192.168.1.33  --remote-username torizon --remote-password <password> --force --reboot device-trees/overlays/imx7_canbus.dts

This runs and performs without any error the compilation and deploy the “ostree” on the device, but then the device does not boot and after 3 failed boot it rollback to the older version and starts.

Next I tried the solution proposed by this kind user " How to enable flexcan1 and flexcan2 on colibri imx7? - Technical Support - Toradex Community ", making an overlay with:

/dts-v1/;
/plugin/;

/ {
	compatible = "toradex,colibri-imx7d",
		     "toradex,colibri-imx7s";
};

&flexcan1 {
	status = "okay";
};

&iomuxc {
	pinctrl_gpio7: gpio7-grp { /* Alternatively CAN1 */
		fsl,pins = <

>;
	};

pinctrl_flexcan1: flexcan1-grp {