Custom MIPI DSI device tree for Colibri IMX8X

Technical Support queries

Hello Toradex experts,

We are developing a new mipi display panel that connect straight to the colibri imx8x mipi dsi output. We obtained the proper device tree file from the LCD screen manufactures. I have attached the sample dts file here:

CustomMipi.txt (6.2 KB)

The device tree is based on the panel-simple.c which should be included in the linux driver.

The hardware and the linux kernel we are using are:

1. Colibri IMX8QXP 2GB WB IT
  2. Carrier Board: Colibri evaluation board v3

TDX Wayland with XWayland 5.6.0+build.18 (dunfell) \n \l
Colibri-iMX8X_Reference-Multimedia-Image

I am new to linux driver and kernel. I followed the official articles on building DTO and Linux kernel from Toradex. When try to build this, it give me error on those lines with message Unable to Parse Input Trees

dsi,flags = <(MIPI_DSI_MODE_VIDEO | MIPI_DSI_MODE_LPM |
					MIPI_DSI_MODE_EOT_PACKET | MIPI_DSI_MODE_VIDEO_BURST)>;
	dsi,format = <MIPI_DSI_FMT_RGB888>;

I commented out those lines, the dts built (couple of the warnings happen though) but the device tree doesn’t seem to work anyway.

Could some one give me some hints on what the proper steps to apply this device tree on the setup we are using

Any help is much appreciated
Warren

Hi @warrenlee,

Please add the following line to the beggining of your file:

#include <drm/drm_mipi_dsi.h>

The errors you’re seeing are probably because you didn’t include where these variables were defined. Could you check that, please?

Also, for device tree overlays. don’t forget to add these lines to the begging of the file as well:

/dts-v1/;
/plugin/;

/ {
	compatible = "toradex,colibri-imx8x";
};

//Put the rest of your code below