Confusion on getting started with Torizoncore and pin multiplexing

Hi,

Background

I am new to the Torizon environment and my company has chosen Toradex verdin imx8mm WBIT for their product. I went through the getting started section and successfully deployed and ran container on SoC using the verdin development board, Now I wanted try out the pin multiplexing functionality and device overlays. For that purpose I followed some documentation on toradex website and while following that I read in per-requisite section that I need torizoncore without containers for overlays to work. (I am not that good with containers at the moment.) So I followed THIS article and successfully installed and ran torizon-core-docker-verdin-imx8mm-Tezi_5.7.0+build.17. In the mean while I went through the data sheet of my SoC and read the chapter 4 specifically 4.4.

Problem
(Apologies in advance if these make no sense but I am totally confused at the moment)

1- How to access GPIOs from my current installation of torizon-core-docker-verdin-imx8mm-Tezi_5.7.0+build.17. I tried to follow the This but the ** Libgpiod** library is not available and I dont kow how to install it at the moment. Can someone help me access the available gpios and use the gpios?

2- I was looking at the chapter 4.4 of This document. I am confused about the defualt configuration of the pins. If we look at the column Default Mode almost all the pins who have gpio as alternative option, have default mode as ALT5. I am confused that is it means that all these pins are configured as gpios by default and we only need to make a device overlay to change to some other alternate functionality. Can someone please explain the table in section 4.4 and the meaning of columns and the default function of the pins.

A sub issue related to this, I was looking at UART3_RXD and UART3_TXD and I was unable to find their definition in device tree. can someone guide me on this, to which gpio does it bind and in which device tree file?