Colibri T20 flash reliability strategy

Greetings!

Background

I’m an engineer working for a customer who has had some reliability issues with a Colibri T20-based product. The problem has manifested as UBIFS filesystem corruption. We tried upgrading the linux kernel to bring in a newer version of UBIFS, but filesystem writes were still not reliable. After seeing the recommendation to try yaffs2, we built a custom image using yaffs2 instead.

The yaffs2 filesystem has worked reliably so far.

However, in some cases, we’ve seen corruption in the linux kernel and the ‘uboot environment’, which are stored directly on flash without any filesystem.

We’d like to completely resolve the reliability issues, so I’ve tried to dig down into how the Colibri T20 product is supposed to work with a potentially unreliable flash memory. (Ideally, we don’t want to ship a “fixed” product, only to yet again receive field reports of bricked units. The end user is unlikely to be satisfied to know that the units are now bricked for a slightly different reason and that the previous complaint has in fact been resolved :slight_smile: ).

I wasn’t personally involved in the original configuration of the linux os on these devices, but I have the toolchain and I can see it uses yocto. It’s based on the official toradex toolchain.

Flash failure points

From what I gather, possible failure points for the flash memory are (correct me if I’m wrong):

#1: The flash could have failed at block 0, causing the stage-0 bootloader to not load.

#2: The flash could have failed somewhere within uboot, causing the rest of uboot to not load.

#3: The flash could have failed where the uboot environment variables are stored

#4: The flash could have failed where the linux kernel is stored

#5: The flash could have failed where the root filesystem is stored