Change SPI speed on IMX8 with TorizonCore

Hello,

I’m new in using Toradex and TorizonCore, so sorry for refreshing the topic, but need to go to the source. I’m using Apalis IMX8 on Ixora Carrier Board connected to MCT070HDMI-B-CTP touch screen via HDMI. Before I used Apalis TK1 on Ixora. I have made both Quickstart Guides – with building image on TK1 with Yocto, and using containers and Torizon OTA on IMX8 (thank you for them). At this moment I’ve got two different images on my IMX8 boards – one of them is Reference Multimedia Image on IMX8 build with Yocto, and second is .yaml file from your tutorial consisting of two containers – Weston-vivante and kiosk-mode-browser uploaded via Torizon OTA.

In spite of customizing image I’d like to customize hardware – the SPI speed. As you mentioned before (Enable SPI iMX8QM) SPI on IMX8 is implemented as kernel module. Exploring device-trees for my board I found only option to set SPI max speed, should I add to option “assigned-clock-rates = value;” to device-tree? Why fsl-imx8qm-apalis.dts file is absent in device-tree and overlays repository after running :

torizoncore-builder dt-checkout

Should I use TorizonCore Builder to customize it? I’m not sure how to do this – changing device tree, customize kernel arguments or building external kernel module? What is interesting SPI working properly on image build on Yocto, with speed of 500kB and I can check this out with spidev_test. Unfortunately, spidev_test command can’t be found on second board, where image is based on .yaml file. How can I add it also to this image? On both boards there are spidev in /dev localization. Or, maybe I should resort directly to kernel using spi_ioc_transfer (Linux Kernel: spi_ioc_transfer Struct Reference) ?

Hi @ml_man ,

Thank you for reaching out to Toradex.

It would be easier for us if you could split your questions into different posts here in the community. I see that there are questions about SPI, Device Tree and OTA.