Basic Understanding the Build Process & DT

Hi Toradex-Team,

Intro:
I have studied your manual own Yocto image (e.g. Build a Reference Image with Yocto Project/OpenEmbedded | Toradex Developer Center). Everything works fine and no errors etc… got all these files like zImage, .imx, .dtb then I put them on a SD card and via Easyinstaller flashed the Colibri-imx6ull Module. Power off on, system boots fine without errors. Done a several builds where I set the root passwd or added some stuff like ltp… build works quite reliable, the passwd or packages will be added and working fine.
So we build our own PCB according your documentation and pinout-designer believe it or not it works fine I used the standard pinout for the LCD and if I take a own flashed SoC I see boot messages on it - pug in a keyboard works also, login works too (see pic). Of cause not all the Hardware works and therefore I studied the Devicetree docs on your page.
Then left the .dtsi files untouched to validate the process and just generated an DT file .dtb name: imx6ull-colibri-eval-3vx.dtb done with: 1.) source export_compiler 2.) make ARCH=arm CROSS_COMPILE=arm-none-linux-gnueabihf- imx6ull-colibri-eval-v3x.dtb works no errors, generated me the mentioned DT. Note: I use the build directory for that: ~/oe-core/build/tmp/work-shared/colibri-imx6ull/kernel-source. After that I replaced the dtb file on the SD Card and via Easyinstaller flashed it… install process no errors. On the Toradex-Board or our own board the system does not boot, I got the u-boot message then “Starting kernel…” nothing. I conclude it does not work because i see no messages on the display.

Q: Is the .dtb file after the build process the same as the one I generated via: make ARCH=arm CROSS_COMPILE=arm-none-linux-gnueabihf- imx6ull-colibri-eval-v3x.dtb without any changes in .dtsi files done?