Using SDL2 in Yocto Build

I’m a bit of a newbie with regard to my target’s desktop environment. Even if I was using Torizon, I’m not fully understanding a few things here…

First, a couple questions related to using a Yocto based build/image on a Verdin w/ iMX8M Mini…
I am using the standard Yocto build and produced the SDK. I want to build/use an SDL2 based application. In the Yocto build, I need to ensure SDL2 is being built according to the desktop environment described below in the multimedia demo image.

The standard multimedia image that supports Qt includes SDL2 as part of the build, but the libraries to link an SDL2 application are not included in the SDK. The shared libraries are present in the sysroot though. Can I add to a recipe variable to include those libraries in the SDK build? I copied the archive files to my SDK install so I could link, but this was a manual step. All the SDL2 headers are present for building, but a CMake-based build can’t find the .a files unless I copy them from my build setup and place them manually. The .so files are also present on the target device.

Perhaps more important is that an SDL2 application doesn’t run properly on the desktop provided by the standard multimedia image. I believe it’s running Wayland, but the whole X11, Wayland, XWayland thing is mind numbing. I can build and run a Qt application no problem now. SDL2 applications show a blank screen and do nothing.
So…what changes to this desktop environment (and my build) do I need to utilize SDL2 properly? Is there a better image option I should build and install to get an SDL2 application running (with Wayland)? I’m clearly “not clear” on this matter and need to be straightened out.

A Qt application built using the cross compiler settings clearly recognizes the desktop environment, but an SDL2 application doesn’t, so how do I differentiate and build accordingly?

Is there a daemon or similar that needs to be running and is not part of the demo image build?