Toradex BSP layers + debian custom image

I’m trying to learn the BSP Layers and Reference Images for Yocto Project and As I’m reading through and loading the multimedia reference image to my board, I got confused on what that reference image does. It loaded a QT cinematic demo which I had a heck of a time finding were to disable that. Prob shouldn’t have that as an autorun kind of thing. But it looked like it had what I wanted. However, I notice it did not have any of the cross compiler tools and no way to install them because it has no package manager. It was suggested (in another post) that BSP reference image is basically torisoncore with out docker. Seems to not have a few things I would need. I’m new to Yacto and a goal I would have is to make a debian image and include the Toradex BSP layers. Is that even possible? Basically, I need
-Apt
-the BSP layer
-want to use libgpiod for GPIO’s
-wayland, I’ll be using crank storyboard

That’s kinds it. As far at I can see the multimedia reference image is only missing apt

Greetings @jeffbelz,

It should be noted that our BSP image are meant as references only rather than final production OS images. Our multimedia image that you loaded brings up a Qt demo to showcase the graphical capabilities of the hardware. For your custom image you can just remove the unneeded demo.

With regards to your requirments, if you want an OS with everything you require, you’ll need to build it using the Yocto/Openembedded build system. Since there’s no Docker in this OS image we can’t trivially pull down sandbox environments with packages we need. Therefore these dependencies need to be built into the OS image itself.

Here’s our article on setting up a build environment for our reference BSPs: Build a Reference Image with Yocto Project/OpenEmbedded | Toradex Developer Center