Do the iMX7 examples work if you follow the wiki instructions

I have build a new Device tree, removed UART2 and 3, I have ignored unused clocks and checked the CORTEX-M4 code works when boot aux is run, but when I run boot from that point it freezes at Starting kernel.

I think I am missing some thing but I can’t find what it is, I have even build a new kernel and DTB, I am bit confused, I am new to this subject domain but have been in the industry a while, could any one help ?

First post, if I stuffed it up, sorry

There is an issue with Colibri iMX7D and the v2.6 Alpha 1 release rendering the Linux clock driver basically useless. I just created a ticket (which will show up on our roadmap) and updated the documentation as well as our release notes.

To fix the issue, I recommend to update the kernel with a kernel image built from the latest sources from the toradex_imx_3.14.52_1.1.0_ga-next branch. Refer to the developer article “Build U-Boot and Linux Kernel from Source Code”.

Hi Stefan,

Thank you for the response, I am about to under take a program where I am writing a real time application on the M4 and and data processing / Web UI on the A7’s, would you be able to point me to the stable branch for the kernel and U-BOOT, I guess from above I am gonna say ‘_ga-next’ will be the kernel, could you tell me the U-BOOT branch to use with this ?

Also I am assuming you guys will be doing another release soon ?

I am still learning my way around so if I could have found it and didn’t sorry

With the latest changes in U-Boot next we moved to a new device tree file name (imx7(s|d)-colibri-eval-v3.dtb instead of just imx7(s|d)-colibri.dtb). We did that for the upcoming migration to the 4.1.15 kernel on i.MX 7.

If you use the latest -next branch of the 3.14.52 kernel, you should not upgrade U-Boot.

If you use the latest -next branch of the 4.1.15 kernel, you need to update U-Boot too.