Debug on VS Code

Hi
I’m working on Verdin iMX8MP Q SOM + Verdin dev. board
Running Torizon Core 6.1.0
I’m new to the Toradex SOM and I’m exploring the possibility to create and run Qt application on Torizon OS.
So I tried to create example project in VS Code from this link Qt C++ Application Development on Torizon Using Visual Studio Code | Toradex Developer Center
I successfully created the ‘Qt widgets sample’ example in debug mode and started to deploy it to board using debug option.
What I see on VS Code is that I can run the application step by step in debug mode but on SOM side the window with Torizon is STUCK so I can’t really run the debug process.
Also if I don’t set breakpoint then the application finish the process after several seconds

After reset of the SOM I saw that a new container was added and I can run the application directly on Torizon

So the question is: what I did wrong so the debug process not giving me a possibility to debug a GUI behavior of Qt application

Hi @yuragel !

Welcome to the Toradex Community!

Feel free to browse around :smiley:

Does this mean that the application doesn’t appear on the module’s screen?

Sorry, but I am a little bit confused…

From this, I understand that you were able to correctly setup and perform the debugging.

From here I guess that maybe your breakpoint was defined before the application triggered the rendering of the window. Would this be possible?

Could you please also share:

• Version of VSCode Extension for Torizon
  • The full name of the module (with its version as well)

Tip: you can stop the containers (like the Kiosk Browser, Portainer) by clicking on the stop button that you have for each container in your module on the Torizon extension tab of your VS Code.

Best regards,

I use Toradex Torizon Support v1.5.1
SOM - Verdin iMX8MP Q 4GB WB IT

Yes - application doesn’t appear on the module’s screen during debug process and in general SOM screen is stuck.